Eastern, Central and Mountain. In October 1973 the nine hour Western Yukon time zone was eliminated by order of the Yukon Territorial Council, placing the entire Yukon eight hours behind UT.

Legal authority for the time zones. Time in Canada has been of provincial rather than federal jurisdiction. Each of the provinces and territories has enacted laws governing standard time and these laws determine the time zone boundaries. Lines of communication, however, have sometimes caused communities near the boundary of a time zone to adopt the time of the adjacent zone, and in most cases these changes are acknowledged by amendments to provincial legislation. Official time for dominion official purposes is the responsibility of the National Research Council of Canada.

Daylight saving time. Most provinces have legislation controlling provincial or municipal adoption (or rejection) of daylight saving time; in the other provinces authority is left to the municipalities. By general agreement, daylight saving time, where it is observed, is in force from the last Sunday in April until the last Sunday in October.

## 1.5 Public land

The total area of Canada and areas of individual provinces and territories are classified by tenure in Table 1.8. All lands, except those privately owned or in process of alienation, are Crown lands under the jurisdiction of either federal or provincial governments.

Federal public land. Public lands under federal government administration comprise lands in the Northwest Territories including the Arctic Archipelago and the islands in Hudson Strait, Hudson Bay, James Bay and Ungava Bay, lands in Yukon, ordnance and admiralty lands, national parks and national historic parks and sites, forest experiment stations, experimental farms, Indian reserves and, in general, all public lands held by the several departments of the federal government for various purposes connected with federal administration. These lands are administered under the Territorial Lands Act (RSC 1970, c.T-6) and the Public Lands Grants Act (RSC 1970, c.P-29).

The largest areas under federal jurisdiction are in the Northwest Territories and Yukon where only 241 km² of a total area of 3 916 007 km² are privately owned for residential purposes and 3 877.5 km² are administered by the territorial governments.

Provincial and territorial public land. Public lands of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia (except the "railway belt" and Peace River block) have been administered since Confederation by the provincial governments. In 1930, the federal government transferred the unalienated portions of the natural resources of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta and of sections of British Columbia to the respective governments, and all unalienated lands in Newfoundland, except those administered by the federal government, became provincial public lands under the terms-of-union on March 31, 1949. All land in Prince Edward Island has been alienated except 344 km² under federal or provincial administration.

Transfer by the federal government of land within and immediately surrounding established communities in the Northwest Territories and the Yukon Territory to the respective territorial governments began in September 1970 when four such transfers were completed, three in the Northwest Territories and one in Yukon, for a total of 1 722 km². Since then transfers were completed in the following areas: Yukon: Faro 236 km², Beaver Creek 5 km², Mayo 10 km², Teslin 2.6 km², Carmacks 31 km², Destruction Bay 5 km², Carcross 24.9 km², Watson Lake 5 km²; Northwest Territories: Frobisher Bay 132 km², Aklavik 21 km², Fort Simpson 363 km², Fort Smith 57 km², Fort Providence 210 km², Hay River-Enterprise 368 km², Norman Wells 453 km², Fort McPherson 80 km², Fort Franklin 65 km², Fort Good Hope 57 km², Pine Point 29.8 km².

Early in 1978 a new policy was adopted whereby transfers of administration of territorial lands are limited to those required for specific planned community development. Thus small blocks of land may from time to time be transferred to the territorial governments; by May 1979 about 10 km² had been transferred.